Lemon Gummies

by Claire

After visiting a friend and raiding her enormous lemon tree I have a huge bag of lemons that I have no idea what to do with. As I was taking the lemons away I had vague ideas of cooking, maybe squeezing some and saving the juice for later, but I was just overwhelmed by the possibilities.

Today I received my delivery of Sarah Wilson’s Gut-Lovin’ Gelatin and that spurred me into action. I would use lemons and gelatin in a treat that was sweetish, but still healthy.

Because I know I am going to eat the whole thing over a few days this does need to be at least pretending to be healthy – so no recipes involving butter or cream, and nothing super sweet.

Behold, the Lemon Gummies!

gummies

It’s oh so simple, very quick and only uses three ingredients; lemon juice, rice malt syrup and gelatin.

I’ll go ahead and call this a healthy treat. Avoiding fructose is just a wise thing to do if you are taking care of your body – the glucose in the rice malt syrup I used is still high energy and can be fattening if you don’t need the kilojoules, but it does help to fill you up.
Lemons pack a punch when it comes to health benefits, but you do lose some of the less stable nutrients like the flavonoids and Vitamin C when you heat it – I tried to use as low a heat as possible.
And the gelatin? Well gelatin is some pretty freaking awesome stuff. It is a wonderful source of protein that contains 18 amino acids, including two that have anti-inflammatory qualities. It helps to heal the gut and colon, helps the liver do its detox work, balances the hormones, and does wonders for the connective tissue, muscles, hair skin and nails. It’s also a filling snack, and can help you fall asleep. 2-3 tablespoons a day is enough to get all that goodness going and the healing flowing.

I got this recipe from Hollywood Homestead – you can get the recipe here.

It is soooooo easy to make! Just put everything in a pan, gently heat through until the gelatin melts, then pour into moulds.
My gummies set in about an hour just sitting on the bench and they are perfectly squidgy and stretchy!

I made a double batch, which was enough for maybe 30 small gummies.

