Things That Might Help

by Claire

This is a list of things that might help with CFS, MCS and dysautonomia. I hope that I won’t have to try all of them because I’d love it if I just got better soon somehow. I’ll update the list as I find things to try and add links to fellow bloggers who have tried these and written about their experiences.

Feel free to add your own suggestions in the comments or link to your own blog!

Graded Exercise Therapy: Tried it, didn’t work.

Pacing: Helps keep my symptoms under control, does not improve my condition though. This helps you cope, it is not a cure.

Grounding Sheet: I use mine (against the wisdom of my electrician cousins) and I don’t think it does anything that great.

Healthy Diet: Green Shake, no sugar, fermented veggies, limited diet. Apart from being incredibly sick, I am wonderfully healthy – I have great skin, clear eyes, do not get colds etc. Limiting my diet assists in keeping my body healthy and limits my stomach issues but it is not a cure.

Spirulina: So yukky I don’t know if it helps or not. Tastes like Mermaid vomit.

CoQ10: I tried it, but I may need to try a different brand. I didn’t notice any change.

Gentle Stretching/Yoga: This calms my body down and stretches my painful muscles. This is essential for wellbeing and peace of mind.

Meditation: Calms the body and mind and helps me cope with how crap being sick is. Perhaps when I get much better at meditating it will have an impact on my fatigue levels.

Moving to the coast to avoid excessive pollution: This helped a great deal, but unfortunately it is not a complete solution.

Air Filter: This does help and I believe that it improved my condition a little bit.

Vitamin D: My allergist assures me that it is essential for a good immune system and that taking VitD supplements is important as many people are deficient.

Salt and Water: This really helps the dysautonomia – I rarely feel dizzy and hardly ever collapse, not even following loud noises or strong emotions! Currently I take 12 600mg tablets of sodium chloride,  1 840mg tablet of Sodium Bicarbonate and about three litres of water every day.

Chiropractic: I see a Chiropractor regularly as I have a bad back – this is genetics compounded with the fact that I don’t move all day. I notice that I feel calmer and a little clear-headed when my back isn’t out – I think this is more the absence of pain and inflammation rather than Chiropractic as a cure for CFS.

Massage: I get a massage every now and then. This really helps when I am having a bad fibro day (as long as they avoid my trigger/trigger spots) – it is wonderfully relaxing, but it can result in a crash the next day if the work was too intense.

Bowen Therapy: My masseuse has tried Bowen Therapy a few times – it definitely has an effect on me – sometimes it gives me a little energy boost but sometimes it makes me feel jittery and shakey like I’ve had a coffee and my system can’t handle it.

Reiki: I had three sessions early in 2012 when I was starting to go down hill. I found the sessions calming but they had little effect on my fatigue.

Eat Organic Food: This just makes sense.

Oral Systemic Balance: If you are not breathing correctly this could help.

Low Energy Neurofeedback: This looks interesting…

Kate at Cooking to Heal ME has tried a few things that I want to look into: Detox the Pineal Gland, Fluoride-free toothpaste.

Trisha at Notes from the Fog is working on her adrenal glands to help with her brain fog.

I read about Rifaximin on the Living With Chronic Fatigue blog.

Dr. Chia’s Eqilibriant is something I found on Someone’s Idea Of Luxury.

TILTed Mom uses glutathione supplementation to improve her chemical tolerance.

 You can test your genes with 23andme to see if you are predisposed to chemical sensitivity (homozygous MTHFR C677T, COMT, MAO and other things affecting methylation capacity/ability to detox). pre-methylated B vitamins may help the MTHFR.

Essential fatty acid deficiencies are common in CFS – make sure you take a combination of an omega-3 fatty acid, eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and unprocessed and unrefined virgin evening primrose oil. EFAs are important for cell membrane health, and may correct a ‘flattening’ of the red blood cells which has been hypothesised as the cause of reduced oxygen supply to the muscles which exacerbates fatigue. **Don’t take DHA – it inhibits some of the effects of the EPA. From The Perrin Technique by Dr Raymond Perrin

