Breakfast Exchange

by Claire

My breakfast routine is pretty solid. Every day I start with a glass of luke-warm water with either lemon juice or apple cider vinegar. Then a big mouthful of fermented vegetables. Then I have a glass of green shake and a bowl of quinoa porridge. Super yum, super healthy!

But now that Spring is here in full force, I feel like porridge season is over and I’m looking for a change. Last summer I was making my own muesli, but I found out that oats were contributing to my stomach issues, so that’s off the menu. I’ve tried gluten free toast but it doesn’t seem to give me the kick that quinoa does.

Do any of you have a great breakfast idea that I could try? It needs to be easy and quick and healthy, and not contain any of the following foods; oats, gluten, nuts, soy, yeast, dairy, sugar, artificial preservatives, apples, banana, celery, onion, or raw tomato and garlic. (I think that’s everything) If you have any ideas post them below or put a link to your own blog article.

In exchange, here’s my recipe for quiona porridge:

Quinoa is a complete protein and also a good source of calcium, magnesium , iron and phosphorous. It is easy to digest and contains fibre.

Turmeric contains cucurmin, which is pretty boss. For this to have an effective impact you do need to take a concentrated supplement, but even a sprinkle over breakfast helps. Turmeric is an anti-inflammatory and antioxidant.

Cinnamon has a whole host of health benefits – notably it is a powerful anti-bacterial and may increase alertness and concentration.

Cloves are high in magnesium and have anti-inflammatory and antibacterial properties.

Quinoa Porridge 

  1. Cook a cup of quinoa when it is convenient for you. 1 cup of quinoa to 2 cups of water. Bring to the boil until most of the water has evaporated or been soaked up (about 10-15 minutes). Take off the heat and leave with the lid on for about ten minutes so the quinoa absorbs any remaining water. Fluff with a fork and serve hot, or leave it to cool. I find that a cup of uncooked quinoa does me for about 4 days, it keeps quite well in the fridge. Just be sure to rinse it thoroughly before cooking as the quinoa may have residual saponins.
  2. Place just over a quarter of a cup of pre-cooked quinoa in a microwaveable bowl.
  3. Add a great big shake of turmeric, a good amount of cinnamon and a sprinkle of cloves and salt.
  4. Pour some rice milk over this and microwave for 1 minute and 20 seconds.
  5. Add two tablespoons of seed mix and you’re done! My seed mix is different every time but this week it’s linseed meal, pepitas, sunflower seeds and coconut flakes.

breakfast table two

